M. Chapoutier La Sizeranne Hermitage 2001

89 points

Distinctive minerally meaty aromas and flavours (emphasis on the former with this wine). Seems like a (nice) touch of Brett. Also slightly stalky florality compared to the 2003.

The lovely thing about this wine is the constrained weight. Effortless, no weight of alcohol or glycerol. Dry classic table wine.

One thought on “M. Chapoutier La Sizeranne Hermitage 2001

  1. Your notes of the 2001 La Sizeranne reminds me of the 1991 I tasted many years ago. Although the wine was corked, beneath it all was a structured wine with elegant fuit and a good deal of minerality. Depite the corkiness I hung onto my glass all evening trying to assess it. The next day I went out and purchased a few bottles.

    Last year I tried a 1991 La Sizeranne and thought it was in an awkward stage so I’m hanging on for a few more years before opening another bottle.

    Cheers……………Mahmoud

Leave a Reply

