Chateau Rauzan-Segla 1985

96 points

Margaux. 12.5%

A truly gorgeous wine. This is one of the greatest wines I have ever tried.

Light appetizing. Classic claret. Marked by fresh acidity even now at 25 years old.

I tasted a vintage around this date as a young inexperienced wine drinker and was unimpressed by its lack of body. Now I think this style is superb. Concentrated, complex, ripe but on a fine lithe frame.

UPDATE 2012 – I have been fortunate to have been able to source a number of bottles of this wine.  Tonight I’m trying what will probably be my last.  I’m firmly convinced that this style of wine could not be made without the low alcohol and greenness that is part of the mix.  It convinces me to buy great estates in the non investment (super ripe) vintages.

I wish I could drink wine like this every night.

3 thoughts on “Chateau Rauzan-Segla 1985

  1. Pingback: Halliday points – ratings of Australian wines compared to French, German and others « Wine Reviews & Comments

  2. Byron, I tend to agree that this was a most remarkable experience and one that has given me faith in aging claret that might not necessarily be “great” in the sense of tremendous concentration or flavour. The intriguing farmyardy tertiary characteristics of this wine just cannot be replicated in anything younger.

  3. Pingback: Chateau Cantermerle 1985 « Wine Reviews & Comments

Leave a Reply

