Chateau Troplong-Mondet 2001

85 points

Saint-Emilion. 13.5%

I mainly drink right-bank Bordeaux but I do love a good right-bank merlot and cab franc blend. I enjoy the ripe fruitcake characters though also the fresher fine styles. I’ve had this wine before when it was younger and enjoyed it, was impressed by the richness. This is all a roundabout way of saying I’m not prejudiced against this wine but I didn’t enjoy the style. It’s too big and dumb. I wouldn’t go near the more recent riper vintages which have seen the price rise for the chateau.

Leave a Reply

