Chateau Potensac 2004

88 points

Medoc. 13%

Nice claret. While I’m sure the Delon family (owners of Leoville Las Cases) emplo state of the art winemaking there is nothing souped up about this wine. It doesn’t even strike me as particularly modern (though the 2003 was). This is very true to its terroir and the vintage.

Savoury food friendly but without particularly classy fruit and unlikely to develop much complexity. That said, if I sniff deeply I get a hint of marzipan new oak esthers. Perhaps this wine still has some degree of integration to occur. Perhaps it will be a longer distant runner than I expect and will win higher ratings in future. I look forward to finding out.

Nice simple classy label.

20121125-174348.jpg

Leave a Reply

